"Old Phenix Homestead Sold" Providence Journal, January 1948 (jpg)

Download

"A Profitable 25-Acre Farm" Providence Journal, August 1905 (pdf)

Download

"An Old Phenix House" Providence News, c1890 (pdf)

Download

Newspaper Articles

"Old Phenix Homestead Sold", Providence Journal 1948

"...originally a grant under royal charter to Caleb Carr, early Colonial Governor of Rhode Island. Title passed to his son, Francis Carr.........who in turn left the extensive lands to his daughter, Sarah. ...became the wife of George Pigot....who in 1723 became the first missionary......to serve at King's Church (Providence)."

"A Profitable 25-Acre Farm" Providence Journal, 1905

"In the Pawtuxet Valley on the high land between the North and South forks of the river and not far from the village of Phenix, is a tract of land known as the Levalley Farm.....which is carried on by Clarence Spencer. His mother, a Levalley, occupies an ancient Levalley farmhouse which is one of the best preserved 200-year old farm houses in Rhode Island."

"An Old Phenix House", Providence News, c1890

"There is one of the most unique and charming of old houses here to be found, perhaps, in New England.....The house is the old LeValley homestead on Phenix hill, where, in the childhood of New England, Peter LeValley, a Huguenot of distinction, came, and, settling, was the ancestor of all that name to-day in this section of the country."

"a most eccentric and excellent woman who inhabited the house"

Find out more about Amanda levalley

"Old Slaughter House At Phenix", Pawtuxet Valley Times

Old Slaughter House At Phenix, Built 150 Years Ago, Has Been Torn Down

"The old Le Valley slaughter house at Fair View Avenue, Phenix, has been torn down. The building, erected over 150 years ago, was one of the landmarks of that part of the Valley and for over 50 years was the scene of a flourishing business. Farmers came to the place from miles around, bringing their animals, mostly cows, calves and swine to be slaughtered and dressed. The plant also had a department where sausage meat was made. Several men were employed at the establishment. John L. Le Valley....erected the building and conducted business for many years...."